Our Government

Home About PM Office Our Government

Government Structure

Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

The Constitution of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia establishes a federal parliamentary republic. The Federal Republic comprises of the Federal Government, the 9 autonomous Regional States and two city administrations. Both the federal and regional governments are organized into three branches of government – legislative, executive, and judicial.

The Federal legislative organ constitutes two houses: the House of People’s Representatives (HPR) and the House of Federation (HoF). The highest legislative authority is vested in the HPR whose members are elected by a plurality of votes cast in general elections every five years. The State Council is the highest organ of the state legislative authority.

The highest federal executive power rests with the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers. The Prime Minister is the chair of the Council and the Commander-in-Chief of the National Armed Forces. The President, on the other hand, is the Head of State.

The Federal Supreme Court holds the highest judicial authority of the independent judiciary. The Court’s President and Vice President are nominated by the Prime Minister for appointment by the House of People’s Representatives.

Read More